Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe to the print edition of Tonica News!

BCR Alerts

BCR Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Corn farmers pick new officers, board members

Minonk farmer wins post as ICGA president

BLOOMINGTON — Bill Leigh, a farmer from Minonk, was elected president of the Illinois Corn Growers Association (ICGA) for 2019-20 at their reorganizational meeting, which was held Nov. 26 following the organization’s annual meeting.

Leigh has served on the ICGA board for six years, most recently as vice president. He will continue his role as District 4 director for the duration of his term as president, serving members in Bureau, Lee, Marshall, Putnam, Stark and Whiteside counties. Leigh was also re-elected to a third term serving District 4.

Joining Leigh in leadership roles are Vice President Randy DeSutter of Woodhull, Treasurer Matt Rush of Fairfield and Secretary Keith Sanders of Vandalia.

The Exports Committee will be led by Chairman Mike Homerding of Plainfield and Vice Chairman Kate Danner of Aledo. Elected to lead the Industrial Committee were Marty Marr of New Berlin and Vice Chairman Terry Smith of Clayton. Grassroots Committee leadership for the coming year are Chairman Ted Mottaz of Elmwood and Vice Chairman Sarah Hastings of Sidney.

In addition to Leigh, five other directors were re-elected and will continue in their positions as directors. They are Mike Homerding for District 1, Marty Marr for District 10 and Matt Rush for District 13. Re-elected at-large directors include Kate Danner of Aledo and Dave Rylander of Victoria.

The newly elected director of District 7, serving Dewitt, Macon, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt and Woodford counties, is Mark Bunselmeyer of Maroa.

Illinois Corn Growers Association is a state-based organization that represents the interests of corn farmers in Illinois, maintaining a high profile on issues in Washington, D.C., and Springfield.

They aim to create and maintain opportunities for Illinois corn farmers to capture more value for their product. In order to fulfill this mission, the organization conducts governmental affairs activities at all levels, market development projects and educational and member service programs.

For further information regarding their work and involvement, visit

Loading more