Print Edition

Print Edition
Subscribe to the print edition of Tonica News!

BCR Alerts

BCR Alerts
Stay connected to us wherever you are! With bcralerts, get breaking news updates along with other area information sent to you as a text message to your wireless device or by e-mail.

Voters reject public safety sales tax

Vote tallies listed for the Tonica and Lostant area

TONICA —áSeveral issues were at stake for Tonica and Lostant area residents when they cast their votes in the Tuesday, April 2, Consolidated Election.

Voter turnout was low at 22.95 percent. Countywide, of LaSalle County's 72,011 registered voters, only 16,525 ballots were cast.

County voters decided not to implement a .25 percent public safety sales tax to help meet the increased expenses of such county offices as the state's attorney, coroner and sheriff. There were 10,842 votes against the proposition, or 70.12 percent, and 4,620 votes, or 29.88 percent, in favor of the increase.

Chris Dose and Andrew Forrest ran for four-year terms on the Lostant Village Board. Forrest received 30 votes, or 51.72 percent, and Dose had 28 votes, or 48.28 percent.

The village of Tonica had three candidates running for three, four-year terms on its board of trustees. The candidates were Dave Wiesbrock, Bob Folty and Mike Supan Jr.

Supan received 72 votes, or 36.36 percent, Folty received 64 votes, or 32.32 percent, and Wiesbrock had 62 votes, or 31.31 percent.

The village of Tonica also had two candidates running for three unexpired two-year terms on its board of trustees. Todd Anderson received 78 votes, or 57.78 percent, and Tom Goskusky got 57 votes, or 42.22 percent.

The Tonica Grade School District had three candidates running for three four-year seats on its board. Candidates were Julie L. Goff Rietgraf Zimmer, Chad E. Lambert and Allen Leffelman.

Lambert received the most votes with 153, or 35.75 percent. Leffelman had 144 votes, or 33.64 percent, and Zimmer received 131 votes, or 30.61 percent.

The L-P Township High School District Board of Education had one candidate running for an unexpired two-year term and four candidates running for three four-year terms. On the basis of existing board membership, at least one member was to be elected from the county's unincorporated area.

Robert (Bob) Morrison ran for the two-year term, and Gregory (Greg) Sarver, Sally A. Hocking Taliani, Tony Sparks and Wayne Temple, the only candidate from an unincorporated area, ran for the four-year terms.

Morrison received 3,691 votes or 90.16 percent. Write-in candidates were chosen by 403 voters or 9.84 percent.

For the four-year terms, Sarver received 3,805 votes, or 30.68 percent; Taliani received 3,475 votes, or 28.02 percent; Sparks received 2,749 votes or 22.16 percent; and Temple received 2,375 votes, or 19.15 percent.

Running for the two seats on the IVCC District Board of Trustees, which are six-year terms, were candidates Jane E. Goetz and Amy Sipovic-Boyles. Goetz has 10,546 votes, or 53.83 percent, and Sipovic-Boyles received 9,045 votes, or 46.17 percent.

Loading more